top of page

Inauguration Fresh Start?

Inauguration day in the United States. A brand new president. A new start. But what does that mean for us?


Yes, having that man in office did create a lot of issues and a lot of problems for underprivileged and oppressed people. But I question how much will actually change in our day to day lives. We are only 20 days into the New Year, just a week shy of a coup, and already everyday people are being forgotten.


Economically, the president-elect and the Democratic Party is backing up on important points they were pushing for: student loan forgiveness, stimulus checks. It is worrisome to say the least. We have fought long and hard for change, but when a new party reclaims the White House, will the fight be over with no change?


I never expected the fight to be over immediately after an election, after an inauguration. But I had hope that when a new man swore on a Bible to execute the office of the president, he would take a look back at the people who helped to elect him. Everyday people, fighting and advocating for change. But I feel invisible.


I am like a ghost observing the political system with no true say in the matter at all. Inauguration, while it is a day of celebration to the end of a terrible four years, it is also a wake-up call. No one can change the status quo until they leave the status quo.


I am worried for the future of social justice. A new person in office comes with dangers, just look at the insurrection on the Capitol. I fear a new presidency will continue to bring out the ugly, those who will do anything to keep us down. Inauguration Day could mean more danger for the oppressed people all across the country.


I urge everyone to take this day with a grain of salt. Change will not happen with a new person in the executive office. Change will not happen within their first 100 days in office. But change will come to those who continue their fight, to those who choose to fly through the fires of change.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Burnout

I feel like I have written about burnout so many times before, but it usually happens at the end of the quarter. As a refresher, burnout is a state of mental, emotional and physical exhaustion caused

Black Media and Films

It is almost the end of Black History Month, which leaves me shocked that it passed so quickly. I feel like I did not do enough to celebrate. The occasional educational conversation with those who are

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page